• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Questions about verifying an NGC slabbed purchase
1 1

11 posts in this topic

I am new to purchasing coins that are slabbed and have a couple of basic questions to ensure I am purchasing legitimate coins:

When I put an NGC slabbed coin in my Registry, should I always have a picture come up that allows me to see and compare it with what I purchased? I have registered 5 coins and that is what happened. I just now registered 2 NGC slabbed coins, a 2020-Mo 1 Onza Libertad MS70 and a 2022-Mo 1 Ounce Libertad and neither had pictures.

I want to weigh the coins and compare the coin weight I should expect, but I don't know where I can find the weight of the slab to make an adjustment. Is there a place that has that information? Are there any other NGC slab-specific things I should consider as part of the verification...

Slab weight is something no one talks about. Some coins have not been photographed by the top grading company's. If you post some pictures of your coins, the members here can give you a good idea of your coins authenticity if the shots are good enough.  

Thanks so much for the information, very helpful.

Here are a couple of photos, thoughts?

It just seems odd that there were no photos, it seems like NGC would do this as standard procedure.  Is there something about the slabs themselves, different process maybe?

Obverse 1.jpg

Reverse 1.jpg

The absence of the photos is presumably a clerical error.  I've heard of this happening before.