• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Submitted - MS68.5 vs mine. & off topic updated
1 1

163 posts in this topic

Okay FINALLY UPDATE FROM NGC!  Good and Bad - see the last 2’pifab

First I’m self taught but I have extensive knowlege like any of do in certain coins, but my lingo isn’t the best & we can all agree many aspects carry over to any denom, but Morgan’s are the toughest in my opinion due to so many Vams, the endless types of dies & mix matching obverse with reverse and some years and mints had more craftsmanship & so on and so on.

*NOW what we have all been waiting for…. Here are the photos sent to me from NGC, but I’m requesting more on the 1942 dime, I didn’t get a close up magnified on the date or mint mark & Variety Vista is using a far stronger magnified image.  But the problem is my dime is not the typical FS101, but instead a different DDO & there are there isn’t in depth detail of it.  *Side note I feel there seem more variations of the 1942/1 - D to be discovered.  After all it want till 1975 it was officially recognized. So TPG WERE wrong for decades & so I’m trying to prove my point is a new one A future update on that.

But here is the 1885 photo, but they feel the toning is questionable, probably bc it’s just perfect, however one of the leading experts authors/contributors of the RED BOOK was introduced to me a last week from a mutual friend & he said the 1885 toning is 100% genuine & gave a 5 min explanation & so I’ll have him be in touch with NGC this week. The photos are near the bottom.