• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Uncirculated Coins

19 posts in this topic

My question is I purchased a coin and it was labeled as Uncirculated but not certified by PCGS or NGC as of yet. Sending it to be graded by NGC, they would be able to label it as such if by their standards it fits the criteria?  I’m new to collecting and all that goes with it. Looking for something on the website about this, I didn’t see any thing or I just overlooked it. Hopefully I don’t seem to ignorant on this question, If I am please bare with me. 

I would like to read more information about uncirculated coins and what to look for, if anyone could steer me in the right direction. 

I would have added a photo but did not want to risk scratching or marking it up. 

Agreed on all counts.  We need photos to tell you anything beyond what has already been said.  Written descriptions are useless when it comes to discerning anything meaningful about coins.  Good, clear, head on photos are an absolute requirement.

Knowing the value of all the coins is not something I think a person that just started would possibly know, that’s something that I am looking forward to learning. It definitely helps if your knowledgeable in that area. So thanks for the heads up on that. 

And yes, the advice about the correct way to hold a coin and how to hopefully ensure they don’t get damaged while inspecting them was very helpful. Thank you.