• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Weird plating on a bicentennial Kennedy half dollar
1 1

24 posts in this topic

I'm fairly new to coin searching, I found this half dollar with a rough texture and a few patches of smooth surface.  The pictures don't really show it very well but the smooth surfaces have that bluish-gray, tarnished silver look.  Can anybody give me some insight on what's going on with this coin? thanks!20231105_113843.thumb.jpg.718fb6836cc1c3c14de97294359251fa.jpg20231105_113857.thumb.jpg.a5a8aa7c406f4511d00751dc3605328d.jpg

The official weight for a copper-nickel clad 1976-D Bicentennial Kennedy half dollar is 11.34 grams, while the official weight for the silver clad version intended to be minted only in San Francisco is 11.50 grams. Your coin is clearly of the copper-nickel variety at 11.31 grams with some wear and/or environmental damage.  The anomalies don't resemble any known form of "mint error" of which I am aware and don't appear to be something that could have been created during the manufacturing process. The surface of the coin may have been etched by acid, although it is probably impossible to say for sure how the coin was damaged.

Cheap gold plating that did not bond fully to dirty/oily CuNi coin.

(Same thing can happen with baby shoes are sent out for "bronzing," or you have the cat bathed in liquid lead to get a shiny coat.)

On 11/5/2023 at 2:35 PM, RWB said:

(Same thing can happen with baby shoes are sent out for "bronzing," or you have the cat bathed in liquid lead to get a shiny coat.)

reminds me of this "silver" new hampshire state quarter I found, some poor grandma probably paid 19.95 for it plus shipping and handling from a late night tv shopping network