• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1986d ddo penny
1 1

18 posts in this topic

Hello,

I consider myself a newbie although I've been collecting my coins since 1984.

As I was going through my stash I came across this penny.

I'm hoping someone out there can tell me if I have a double died or otherwise. I hope it's a double died and discovery coin as I can't seem to find another one like it

20231103_223911~2.jpg

20231103_224358~2.jpg

20231103_223919~2.jpg

20231103_224412~2.jpg

Hi SalRos315,

It could also be a matter of split-plating.  When the penny transitioned to more zinc and less copper in 1982, it created a nightmare for the pennies that today still ravage most.  Although your coin is less pronounced than the example below, you can see the effect.  You should see quite a bit of this on pennies from 1983.  I have been inundated with thousands of pennies just like yours.

image.thumb.png.c41db94848a350157b17bcd4dd43748d.png

Fantastic resources can be found in the thread: Basic Resources & Glossary

https://boards.ngccoin.com/topic/430263-basic-resources-glossary/

There are many anomalies that occur through the minting process that are not categorically defined as errors or varieties that I consider to be collateral damage. (gotta break eggs to make omelette)  The resources will illuminate you to some interesting and helpful information that will aid you in your coin hunting.  

So the true DDO condition has to be clear and material, like Sandon's coin's "LIBERTY" which is clear even to a mediocre grader like me ?

These other conditions -- while unique -- clearly don't have the magnitude of the "doubling" so they're not worth anything -- is that it ?