• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

What do you look for in a coin?
1 1

21 posts in this topic

I'm pretty new to collecting and in looking around at different coins, especially early/older coins, I've noticed that all of them have different attributes, even those in the same grade.

So what do you personally look for when adding a coin to your collection? What is the sweet spot for grades? For coins in the same grade, what makes one stand out over the other to you? 

In my case I only collect gold and silver coins so it's all about eye appeal and presentation. As far as modern coin grades are concerned only submit coins that are as close to perfection as possible wether it's MS70 for circulated coins or PF70 for proof coins.

However, for classic silver coins such as Peace Dollars for example, my minimum acceptable grade is MS64. For classic gold coins like a Indian Head quarter eagle my minimum acceptable grade is AU58.

Edited by Tony Follis

On 7/21/2023 at 8:06 AM, Fenntucky Mike said:

Do you have a specific series you're talking about? Each series will have it's nuances. Without more specifics it's difficult to answer you're questions other than buy what you like and check recent sales at auction of coins in the same grade with the same characteristics to determine a fair price. 

EDIT TO ADD: If possible it's best to focus on one type/series of coin and learn as much as you can prior to making your first purchase. Randomly picking coins you know little about is a great way to waste money.