• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Mechanical Doubling or true DDR?
1 1

35 posts in this topic

Hey all! I’m a long time casual collector, and recently started rol searching quarters. I’m not really good at detecting the difference between mechanical doubling and a real doubled die. That being said, I was hoping to get help determining the verdict On this 2021 Crossing the Delaware quarter reverse on “United States Of America”. Please let me know what you think!

Brandon

B25CE93B-3BB6-4D06-AC20-29850716196C.thumb.jpeg.9790fdcd16100b11e2148463ad97f826.jpeg4A5C101C-11DB-4B27-9742-CA9AAF598A94.thumb.jpeg.64415ab8b75b1bd4aeb1aa20bdf5bb50.jpegCFE7743B-96ED-4B2C-A4D7-D7C15EE74412.thumb.jpeg.8230d1144180ba1a11aae615e19332b3.jpeg

It does look like MD on the surface.  The attached may help looking at the coin in-hand, and there are some additional resources on doubling in the sticky topic at the forum top.

Note that it is very unlikely that modern coins have true die or hub doubling since in the mid to late 1990's the US mint switched to a single squeeze process to produce master dies.  This significantly limits true doubling of the dies.

https://doubleddie.com/58222.html

Errors - Doubled Die Graphic.jpg

Edited by EagleRJO

On 4/28/2023 at 4:31 PM, Coinbuf said:

Obvious machine doubling from what I see in the photos.   Please don't take this as harsh and I'm not judging you, but what is the point of searching rolls if you cannot identify what you see or "find".

I mainly look for die chips and other more obvious “errors” and this just happened to look different so I figured I’d ask since the difference between HD and MD aren’t my strong point