• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

2014 Virginia quarter Post mint or ??
2 2

13 posts in this topic

Hello, looking for opinions on this one, when I first seen it I thought for sure post mint damage but the more I looked at it the more I've convinced myself thatWIN_20220710_21_22_07_Pro.thumb.jpg.7b8f9328ca3ad1262a11bb6dcb73b435.jpgWIN_20220710_21_21_57_Pro.thumb.jpg.1c35767746905aaf2cb7d3d5a3bb8295.jpgWIN_20220710_21_21_44_Pro.thumb.jpg.7938e4a9e55caaf726d6531b9c63d919.jpgWIN_20220710_21_21_30_Pro.thumb.jpg.50a7bf77ff5ff150aaeb878ae863087f.jpg it may not be IDK. What do you guys think? The way the lines start and stop is what has me questioning it, the way the scratches don't cut through the whole design in some places is what I'm questioning. Thanks 

I'm not an expert, but that seems like quite a lot of mechanical damage to be from just rattling around in mint bags/bins or from a possible mis-strike.  Have you looked at it up close with a good loupe to see if there are any wear indications, particularly at high points, and compared it to graded coins that look similar?  I am finding that the PCGS and NGC sites are a great resource for coin condition.

PCGS Grading Standards

PCGS Coin Price Guide: The Industry Standard for US Coin Values

NGC Coin Price Guide and Values | NGC

On 7/10/2022 at 11:17 PM, EagleRJO said:

I'm not an expert, but that seems like quite a lot of mechanical damage to be from just rattling around in mint bags/bins or from a possible mis-strike.  Have you looked at it up close with a good loupe to see if there are any wear indications, particularly at high points, and compared it to graded coins that look similar?  I am finding that the PCGS and NGC sites are a great resource for coin condition.

PCGS Grading Standards