• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1910 VDB Lincoln Cent
1 1

19 posts in this topic

I'm new to coin collecting having recently inherited some coins and paper currency from my parents and have run into an interesting situation.  Some backstory:  I started researching 1909 VDB cents when I found two in my collection and ran across Dr. Sol Taylor's article about 1910 VDB Lincoln Cents (https://scvhistory.com/scvhistory/signal/coins/soltaylor051008.html). After reading it I had to take a look through my handful 1910s to see if one of them could be what Dr. Taylor was looking for.

Well, I think I found one and am looking for another opinion (or three, or twelve, etc...) to see if I'm right.  I can see the initials with my 30x loupe and see them faintly with my 10x (which doesn't say much because I use the 30x for a reason - I need new glasses), so I put it under my digital magnifier and, sure enough, the V.D.B. is there, not as sharp as what's on my 1909s, but it's there.  According to what I've read in Dr. Taylor's article and in this thread about the initials being removed, it looks like whomever was responsible for making the correction to the die that made my coin didn't get the initials completely removed.  I've attached three pics of the coin, obverse, reverse, and a close up shot of the initials, for you to look at and would appreciate your opinions.  I apologize for the poor pic quality, the camera on my magnifier isn't the best in the world.  If you think it really could be a 1910 VDB cent, I'd appreciate any guidance you'd be willing to share on what to do next because I have no clue.

Magnified VDB.jpg

Obverse.jpg

Reverse.jpg