• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1990 NO mint mark
1 1

21 posts in this topic

Hey I’m pretty new at all of this and was doing research but I think we all know how YouTube and eBay can take you down a rabbit hole that always seems to lead to 2 Guys digging a pool. So my thing is I have a 1990 no mint mark penny with clear doubling on reverse with word “AMERICA” maybe some more doubling else places too. I was doing research and I can not really tell if it’s a proof that has been tossed around a lot of pockets or just a reg 1990 no mint. I’m really curious on how rare my 1990 penny is and the current value. I’m gonna see if I can’t find more about it while I get some answers for you guys thank you all much appreciated. 

On 12/13/2023 at 5:21 AM, Fitzon00 said:

Hey I’m pretty new at all of this and was doing research but I think we all know how YouTube and eBay can take you down a rabbit hole that always seems to lead to 2 Guys digging a pool. So my thing is I have a 1990 no mint mark penny with clear doubling on reverse with word “AMERICA” maybe some more doubling else places too. I was doing research and I can not really tell if it’s a proof that has been tossed around a lot of pockets or just a reg 1990 no mint. I’m really curious on how rare my 1990 penny is and the current value. I’m gonna see if I can’t find more about it while I get some answers for you guys thank you all much appreciated. 

It's a normal cent struck for circulation at the Philadelphia Mint, not a proof, any doubling is either mechanical or too minor to be of interest, value one cent. 

Your correct, no MM means it was minted in Philadelphia.   
What you have is not a DD, it is called Die Deterioration Doubling (DDD)
which is caused by the wear on the striking die. This is common and adds