• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

There is some México Libertad Onza from 1983 with tripled Die Reverse
1 1

22 posts in this topic

I'm not an expert on DDO or on the Libertad's (though I have a few)...but I think this is not pronounced enough to qualify as DDO.  Not seeing it throughout or enough.  

I'll wait to hear from one of the "experts." (thumbsu 

Edited by GoldFinger1969

On 11/7/2023 at 7:24 PM, Greenstang said:

Welcome to the forum

Not a DDO, you can’t have Die Doubling showing on both sides of the coin.   
Looks like it is Machine Doubling 

On 11/7/2023 at 7:24 PM, Greenstang said:

Welcome to the forum

Not a DDO, you can’t have Die Doubling showing on both sides of the coin.   
Looks like it is Machine Doubling 

Thank you

On 11/7/2023 at 9:10 PM, GoldFinger1969 said:

So "Machine Doubling" is more-or-less a lighter version of DDO, folks ?

No, it is not!  Machine doubling, a.k.a. strike doubling or mechanical doubling, is caused by a die that is loose in the press, resulting in shallow, step-like secondary images. A doubled die ("DDO" means doubled die obverse) is caused by doubling on the die itself. See Double Dies vs. Machine Doubling | NGC (ngccoin.com). Coins with machine doubling are not considered to be worth a premium, while coins with die doubling may be.

I would say with this coin, the same as with other coins. Clear, cropped, full photos of both sides of the coin would be helpful. Seems we have the closeups of the area in question, but it would be nice to see the whole coin.

On 11/7/2023 at 8:10 PM, GoldFinger1969 said:

MD isn't worth much as an error variety...but DDO is...is that right ?