• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Post mint damage?
1 1

9 posts in this topic

I have a penny that has damage. I sent a picture to some authority on the subject who told me is was definitely damaged post mint. Ok. I'm a rookie. What do I know? Even more so, what do you know? 

There are holes on each side of the penny. They just don't go all the way through. Sorry these are the best pics I have.

Screenshot_20230204_153313_CoinSnap.jpg

Screenshot_20230204_153143_CoinSnap.jpg

Looks like it got the terminator 2 treatment.

Perhaps it was dropped onto an engine or tossed onto a burning coal or held over a torch or was in a house fire or was used in a fuse box. 

Copper's melting point is fairly low (1,085 C)

"Copper is a chemical element with the symbol Cu and atomic number 29. It is a soft, malleable, and ductile metal with very high thermal and electrical conductivity."

Welcome to the NGC chat board.'

The authority you consulted is correct. This now dateless cent has been severely damaged and is worth face value.

If you thought that this coin was a "mint error", please understand that a mint error is a coin that exhibits a major anomaly due to something that went awry during the manufacturing process. There are only a limited number of causes for mint errors, while the types of misfortunes that can befall a coin once it is in circulation are infinite. This coin does not exhibit any known form of mint error.  If you want to learn more about mint errors or other numismatic topics, please let us know, and we can direct you to appropriate resources.