• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Proof Like Grading?

47 posts in this topic

Hi all,

Its been awhile since I've been here and really since I've done anything collecting wise. As I am still a complete newbie for the most part and really unsure about grading thought I would pose this question.

Would or could a coin be considered proof like if only 1 side is proof like? IE: the reverse looks proof but the obverse does not. Or would it require both sides?

Thanks

On 3/28/2023 at 7:03 PM, Sandon said:

In my experience, a coin must have both sides meet the grading service's standards for "prooflike" for a grading service to place the term "prooflike" on the holder. NGC may give a coin that is prooflike on one side, most likely the obverse, a star ("*") grade if the coin has overall good eye appeal. I've seen star grades on NGC graded Morgan dollars with prooflike obverses and frosty reverses. Only NGC uses star grades, which are not recognized by the ANA grading standards.

I suspect that PCGS and possibly other grading services may give coins with prooflike obverses an extra point or so for superior "eye appeal". The grading services all tend to place more emphasis on the obverse in grading.

Thank you. It needing both sides was about what I suspected but wanted to double check. The rest of your statement I was unaware of and very informative. Thank you.

On 3/29/2023 at 9:08 AM, RWB said:

FYI "proof-like" is not a grade. It is a subjective description of the clarity of reflection off the fields of a coin.