• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1799 8 Reales Coin

18 posts in this topic

First time poster here! I have this 1799 8 Reales coin and being a newbie I would like to learn more about it, but apart from finding price charts on this site, I haven’t been able to find much? From what I’ve been able to find out is that this was from the Lima mint (the IJ on the back) and that it may have a ‘chopmark’ on the back left pillar and perhaps on the front right by his chin? Is there a good site you could direct me to that may have more on the history of these coins? From the NGC charts, it shows the mintage for this particular year in Lima at over 5 million, yet there are no mintage numbers from Mexico, yet they have similar value? Also, do chop marks add to the value? Is there any chance this would have come from a shipwreck find? What sort of grading would you give to this particular coin? Thanks for looking! 

44159214-C9FC-4D95-B5E9-83858C5294DC.thumb.jpeg.967f26ef412e93c1799c8697033748de.jpeg98339729-2EDF-4127-B035-A7DAA780061F.thumb.jpeg.0fa7271dc23902880413dac1407df713.jpegB3FFABD0-112F-43D6-B559-92704E89879F.thumb.jpeg.5b27c181db1a4ff454ad358616727af5.jpeg10EFD4A7-73C4-42D8-A41D-6489632A46F8.thumb.jpeg.44c2bb9edd0fccbb1f04312b185f3902.jpegBE9B5917-35FE-44E4-954C-A1CAA5269CBA.thumb.jpeg.5389bd54b8b9e9ca6e10635e8742efaa.jpeg

Edited by Mojorkr

It could be simply battered, but some aspects of it make me wonder about authenticity. What does it weigh? One decimal place, please. I notice a few chops on it, but those don't confirm authenticity. For one thing, chops also could be faked. Another clue is that this issue is evidently not common; there is a reason no one counterfeits, for example, 1964 Jeffs--but they counterfeit the holy living out of 09-S VDBs.