• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Total Newbie Here - best advice/resources for cataloging a collection?

8 posts in this topic

Good afternoon,

Would really love feedback from the collective hivemind! My husband and I recently inherited his father's coin collection, and we're a little overwhelmed on where to start. The collection includes a lot of "year" proof sets, but also includes a lot of random coins. Some in cases, some not in cases, some in little envelopes, etc. There's no rhyme or reason to it so far, just whatever he picked up in his travels that he thought might be worth something some day, or coin sets that looked interesting. We're trying to figure out a way to separate the wheat from the chaff, as it were. What's worth anything, and what isn't?

Also, does anyone have any recommendations for a user-friendly coin collection inventory software/program? I created an account and tried the NGC Collection Manager, but it doesn't seem very beginner-friendly, and I didn't even know what to put in the fields - it all seems free text? Ideally, we were hoping for a free (or low cost) online database or program where we could start inputting our proof sets and known items, and get real-time information or rough guesstimate on how much they are worth.

Next step: Organizing! For all the loose coins, are coins typically separated out by denomination (pennies, dimes, nickels, etc) then by year? Are albums or tubes best? Any other tips/tricks/feedback on how to get these coins sorted?

Any guidance is very greatly appreciated!

Hi and welcome. You have come to the right place and I really want to thank JKK for sharing in my opinion a very good essay on how to begin handling your situation.