• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Grade inflation

29 posts in this topic

Happy new year fellow collectors.

I have been submitting coins for grading to NGC since 2008 and have been getting higher grades on my submissions recently compared to older ones. In hand most of my older graded coins looks better than my more recent ones which been submitted in 2020. 
I heard about grade inflation but didn’t give it much thought till I can compare with personal experience. 
If cost is not a drawback is it not then worthwhile to resubmit and expect a higher grade?

I see that NGC can be 3weeks + behind on some submissions and are recruiting new members of staff offering sign on bonuses. 
Could it be inexperienced graders or rushing through invoices to blame? 
The saying goes buy the coin and not the holder but when PF63/64/65 looks superior to recent PF67 graded ones I am beginning to be sceptical. 

Welcome to the forum.

Many, if not most believe that “grade inflation” has been a fact of life over the past few decades.

Before you resubmit any coins, I suggest checking actual selling prices of them at the current grade, vs. a grade higher. Sometimes, a resubmission isn’t merited, due to only minor upside potential in value. And of course, there’s no guarantee that the grade will go up. So I wouldn’t necessarily “expect” a higher grade. Perhaps try a small number of regrades and see how that goes?

1 hour ago, v/d Merwe said:

The saying goes buy the coin and not the holder but when PF63/64/65 looks superior to recent PF67 graded ones I am beginning to be sceptical. 

Whoa, that is a HUGE jump in grade, from 65, let alone 64 and 63.  You've had this happen many times ?

What coins are you talking about here ?  Pics would help.

Edited by GoldFinger1969