• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

New to Numismatics!

21 posts in this topic

Hey guys,

I made my first graded coin purchase and i have a 10 day inspection period that i can send it back without any restocking fees. My coins came in yesterday. I am dealing with a company i have never used before. I bought a 2015 GAE Set First Day of Issue MS70 for $3747. Did i make a good buy?

Hi,

I'm not too big on modern, graded stuff. More classic coins for me.

I hope you enjoy the hobby and welcome to the boards !

Paul

First, welcome to the neighborhood!

You didn't say which TPG graded it, but I'm not a big fan of the "First Day of Issue" hype nor the "First Strike" or "Early Releases". To me, these are nothing more than a gimmick that has no bearing on the condition of the coin.

If I were you, I'd examine those 70's very carefully to make sure that none are over-graded. "Buy the coin, not the slab."

Chris

Welcome aboard! Be sure to create an account at http://coins.ha.com (it's free) and then you can search the Heritage Auction Archives. That will give you a good idea but obviously for Modern Gold, much of the value is tied into Gold Spot...so you would have to look at recent auctions of the same TPG holder that are recent or at a time when gold prices were the same.

You can also browse current auctions and add them to your Tracked Lots or Watch Lists...pay attention to the material of interest for the lots that start at a low bid price. You can gain a lot of knowledge by just WATCHING. Another good auction house is http://www.GreatCollections.com

Do a TON of reading on the subjects of any future purchases before you bid and ask questions if you have them.