• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Is this an MS67 ???

28 posts in this topic

I think I know grading of Peace $ pretty well but Im no expert. I havent actually seen all that many 67s in person - perhaps 2-3 over the years - so for the experts out there - is this really what a MS67 should look like ?

Sorry if this coin belongs to somewhere here...

Again, I know grading from photos is hard but I would imagine that a 67 would be free from just about any and all hits or nicks.

And if this isnt a MS67 does NGC get coins like this off the market ?

1925 NGC MS67 Peace $....

I am no expert either, but I think it really depends on the coin and the strike. That is a nice looking Peace and I checked the number and it's listed with NGC so it appears to be the real deal that they graded. Another Peace may get a 67 grade and look a little different than that one. No two coins are exactly alike is how I see it, but they may still grade the same depending on too many factors to list.

My opinion, and I tend to be conservative in grading - at least by modern "standards," is that there are too many hits and scrapes on the nose, jaw and neck, plus reverse dings on the eagle to be a MS67 coin.

However, I often disagree with what any of the major companies put on uncirculated coins.

I'm not an expert but, based on these images, that coin is not a 67.

Honestly, It doesn't appear to be a 66.

Too much chatter on the nose, cheek, jaw and neck. The hit on the nose appears to be fairly deep and it is distracting to me, even in the full slab pic. hm