• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Premium for Color

38 posts in this topic

After spending the last few months observing some beautifully toned coins here on the Chat boards, I have come to the conclusion that I must obtain a few examples. (I'll be starting with a Gem Morgan - MS 65/66)

Obviously I'm new to the toning aspect of collecting and value the opinions of the collectors here that have obtained the knowledge necessary to purchase these beauties.

Feel free to post any toned coins and what % premium one would expect to pay for them or sell them for.

Any insight would be most helpful....Thanks

I absolutely encourage you to start buying some toners. They are a fascinating and beautiful aspect of collecting. Unfortunately, every single coin is going to have a different premium, and nobody can try and narrow it down more than that. You can have three MS-64 Morgans of the same date and same slab, with very similar toning and they will all go for very different amounts. Sometimes I think it depends on what color shirt the seller is wearing and if it clashes with the coin.

For example, I bought this beautiful coin for about 1.4x over the price guide value (it says $20, vs my cost of $28).

Consignments85366.jpg

However, this beauty cost me a full 8x price guide value of $20

1964KennedyNGC64strObv_01.jpg

1964KennedyNGC64strRev_01.jpg

I'm sorry, physics-fan, but that Kennedy half dollar has too many marks on the face for me to have paid that much of a premium for it. Maybe color does rule for some, but for me very few marks + color are needed if I'm going to throw away the price guides and pay an 8 fold premium.

And since I'm not a color maniac, I don’t toss the price guides away that often.