• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

How to buy and avoid counterfeits

17 posts in this topic

I am new to this hobby but have been reading this board and CT as well for the last several months and have just started to buy into this hobby and make purchases over the last several weeks.

Mostly i am sticking to proof sets and dollars/halves. Sticking to the rule "only collect what you like" and these are the coins that really speak to me.

However, with that being said the more i read, the more i feel scared to purchase dollars, especially Morgans, which are probably my favorite coin design of all time.

Let me explain my situation. I live in a medium sized town in Alabama and have only found two coin shops in town so far. One caters only to the super rich from what i can tell, and the other i refuse to go in due to being treated very rude every time i have tried and the fact that it seems like the owner is only interested in buying/selling silver and gold.

So.....that pretty much only leaves Ebay and what i can find in my travels.

How do i avoid getting scammed on Ebay or with raw morgan buys? Is the only real answer to only buy slabbed coins?

I guess what I am really asking is.....how prevalent, really, are counterfeits in this hobby?

I know that they exist, but on a day to day basis, what is the likelihood of geting stuck with one.