• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recent purchase, a 1794, Head of ’94 large cent

22 posts in this topic

In addition to the 1825 quarter eagle my second big Baltimore show purchase was this 1794 large cent. This piece came from the Dan Holmes collection, and it has been on the market for a while. I had been eyeing it for several months and finally decided to buy it after a brief negotiation with the owner.

This is an S-21, which is the first variety after the 1794, Head of ’93 varieties. It is rated as an R-3, which makes it a little scarcer than average. The coin fits in my collection as part of my expanded type set. Many of the cents and all of the half cents of 1794 are a different sub type from the cents and half cents of 1795. If these coins were not so rare and expensive in high grade, they would be an official part of the U.S. type series. Most collectors can barely find ONE 1794 or ’95 cent or half cent let alone two.

The 1794, Head of '94 large cents are truly beautiful coins. It's hard to believe that the lowly cent could be so attractive. The larter "Head of '95 and 1796 large cents were not as nice and were stuck in lower relief.

PCGS graded this coin MS-62 brown, and that is a very accurate market grade. The ultra conservative EAC guys grade AU-50+ :o Don't get the idea that those guys would sell this coin for AU money. They won't. They will charge you Mint State money and call it AU. For the S-21 variety it rated as the fifth or sixth finest known. For the record I'd grade this coin AU-58.

I have yet to take the perfect picture of this piece, but here is my current effort.

1794S-21CentO.jpg

1794S-21CentR.jpg