• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

I purchased my first coin today!

20 posts in this topic

Hi Everyone:

I have been a lurker for some time now with an occasional post. I have always been fascinated with old coins. I am 45 years old, and a self-employed logging contractor by trade. I am in hopes of semi-retiring in about 3 years, where my wife and I will spend winters in Florida on our boat, and summers in our house in northern Vt. I will probably continue to log in the summer month to help fund my collecting habits. In the winter, I hope to do metal detecting and scuba diving. Vero Beach seems like a nice place to retire seems it's called the treasure coast. It would be cool to find something really neat diving or on the beach.

So, this is the coin I purchased. I need to practice taking pictures. This coin is actually more silver color except for the obvious toning at the top on the front and the right side on the back. I love it, and already have found another that I am considering purchasing. I hope to learn a lot from all of you guys great knowledge of the hobby.

Mike

1886Morgandollar001.jpg

1886Morgandollar002.jpg

Oh brother another comic guy jumping ship....stay off my turf buddy lol

Actually Morgans are what I actively collect along with countless others....what drew you to that series? Can't go wrong with a graded gem 65 :headbang:

Welcome !!

That's a great looking Morgan. I can see how you couldn't resist.

Most of us enjoy many areas of the collecting arena. Comics, coins, watches, etc.....

I'm glad you finally followed your urge.

Enjoy the hobby !

Paul

Hi, Mike! Welcome to the neighborhood.