• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

1888 $3 gold piece

71 posts in this topic

I aquired a 1888 $3 gold piece, among others, at a small town estate sale last weekend. I'm new to collecting and my goal is to obtain every antique gold coin minted in the US. A few questions I have are what is the best way to get them graded, and how what is safest way to ship them if I use NGC? I live in a small town so no coin dealers here. Also I heard there are some counterfeit $3 gold pieces running around so what is a good source for learning how to detect counterfeits. I have browsed the NGC website and haven't found any specific info. I am kinda suspicious that that $3 piece is fake, only because it is in such good condition- looks uncirculated and not even a tiny abrasion on it- and I'm not the lucky kind that finds good deals.

There's a few good books you can get

Bill Fivaz counterfeit gold detection book is great, you can buy it on amazon.

PCGS Guide to grading and counterfeit detection is also good and focuses more on what geniune coins should look like, where bill's book focuses on what counterfeits should look like

Familiar yourself with alterations too...there are lots of fake 3 dollar pieces out there, but if it's real it should bring alot of money, they are pretty scarce.

Welcome to the forum.

If you can post decent pictures here we can possibly/probably tell you if it's genuine or not. Odds aren't real good, though, based on what you said.

If I were you, I would not waste even another minute. Get the coin packaged up and shipped off to NGC immediately. There are far too many fake three-dollar golds floating around to take excessive risk.

Good luck!