• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Just Bob

Member: Seasoned Veteran
  • Last visited

• Days Won

Personal Information

Recent Profile Visitors

7,611 profile views
  1. Clarence Hossley operated a billiard parlor inside the Carroll Hotel in Vicksburg, MS in the early 1900s. Two types of tokens were issued in 5 cent denominations. Both were round brass, 21 mm in diameter. One had a 2mm center hole, the other type did not. Both are listed in Chatham's Mississippi token book as R9 (2 -3 known to exist). Those numbers should be taken with a grain of salt, since the book was written in 1990. It is possible that more examples have been found since the book was written. Still, I have been collecting and following Mississippi tokens for over 40 years, and I can recall seeing only one other example of this piece in all those years. As far as value, that depends entirely on who wants it and how bad. It could sell for $25 or it could sell for several hundred. That may sound odd, but that is the token market. The venue, current market conditions, seller, demand, and condition of the piece all can play a part in the final price. I can tell you this: I bought my example off eBay in September of 2008, during a lull in the market, and I paid $45.44 plus shipping.
  2. Thank you for those pictures of the tiny indentations. I have never done any plating myself, so I did not know what to look for. Learned something new today.