• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

vam 14.11
1 1

16 posts in this topic

I wish there was a better option for this vam 14.11, it's hard to believe a rim ding kills it but I get it, I feel like it deserves better than a genuine only label, it should at least get a details grade like f/vf details, i know it will never see a numerical grade, I guess I'm lucky to have one at all, I thought about crossing it over to ngc for a details grade if possible, I'm new to all this so I'm still feeling my way around, what's your thoughts on it ? is it stuck where it's at

IMG_20240329_031001~2.jpg

IMG_20240329_031017~2.jpg

That is unfortunate. A great looking coin with a rim ding. I would be disappointed as well. The details are great and the facts that it it a VAM and a wild eye should make it gradable

PCGS simply picked one of the two problems to put on the label, it could just as easily have been killed for the harsh cleaning; that rim ding is very sizable.

I don't see any point in trying to cross this coin over to an NGC slab. In NGC's Variety Plus, they only list VAM 14.1 and 14.1A. It seems they don't recognize VAM 14.11 or it would be listed. That said, if you crossed this coin over, it would lose its current VAM designation.

It has a really big rim ding that any grader would knock this coin down to a details grade without a straight numerical grade. As a collector of these, I have to say that rim ding would have caused me to pass by if it were a raw coin, regardless of the VAM designation. I also agree with @Coinbuf it also appears to have had a harsh cleaning. I think it has too many things going against it for you to spend any more extra money on plastic and a paper label.