• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1987 Nickels
1 1

9 posts in this topic

i was searching through my nickels, having become an avid coin hunter very recently. 

i did a little bit of research before looking through my nickels. but i came across one that felt different and weight .2 g less than the regular 5 g. more research on it gave me reason to believe it could be a clad error, maybe alongside a mint error with the words “Five Cents”. 

im a major noob though. i only know what i see, and i’m hoping someone could help me out to identify my coins. 

apologies for the sideways picture. the one to the left(or on top) is another 1987 coin i had in my pile. the one on the right(bottom) is the odd textured one—the “clad” nickel.

AF43E546-DF8D-433C-BF54-653E25D0DC68.jpeg

On 3/4/2024 at 1:24 AM, aNoobyScavenger said:

i was searching through my nickels, having become an avid coin hunter very recently. 

i did a little bit of research before looking through my nickels. but i came across one that felt different and weight .2 g less than the regular 5 g. more research on it gave me reason to believe it could be a clad error, maybe alongside a mint error with the words “Five Cents”. 

im a major noob though. i only know what i see, and i’m hoping someone could help me out to identify my coins. 

apologies for the sideways picture. the one to the left(or on top) is another 1987 coin i had in my pile. the one on the right(bottom) is the odd textured one—the “clad” nickel.

AF43E546-DF8D-433C-BF54-653E25D0DC68.jpeg

the front side >

7F381CDC-56AF-4C0E-8696-38CC6C8A5584.jpeg

The granular and somewhat mushy appearance suggests exposure to some type of corrosive like an acid, which would also account for the slughtly lower weight.  This is just damage and not an error.