• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Interesting Roosevelt Quarter Anomaly
1 1

17 posts in this topic

Okay, I'm an admitted novice but this one looks interesting to me.  Any thoughts appreciated.  

WIN_20240208_16_20_51_Pro.jpg

WIN_20240208_16_19_38_Pro.jpg

WIN_20240208_16_20_11_Pro.jpg

WIN_20240208_16_19_06_Pro.jpg

Edited by Burk

Very common Machine Doubling on that series.   
I read on another forum that a member did a survey and found    
out that over 60% of the quarters in that series had MD.

On 2/8/2024 at 4:28 PM, Coinbuf said:

Just some die deterioration/strike doubling, not an error or any type of doubled die.

I believe it, but I don't understand how it could only affect that one letter.  Any ideas? 

What I see, highlighted in Frame 3, is an altered sub-machine with grip, which clearly did not exist during President Roosevelt's reign... but it would not stop me from advertising it as such on a foot-loose and fancy-free platform like Etsy.  doh!

On 2/8/2024 at 4:50 PM, Henri Charriere said:

What I see, highlighted in Frame 3, is an altered sub-machine with grip, which clearly did not exist during President Roosevelt's reign... but it would not stop me from advertising it as such on a foot-loose and fancy-free platform like Etsy.  doh!

LOL

On 2/8/2024 at 6:50 PM, Henri Charriere said:

What I see, highlighted in Frame 3, is an altered sub-machine with grip, which clearly did not exist during President Roosevelt's reign

I don't know what you have been smoking but I see a standard holstered pistol, likely an army Colt M1873 or the M1892 he carried as a Rough Rider, with a pistol barrel tip projecting below the holster bottom and his left hand resting on the pistol with the forward facing grip visible.