• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1877s trade dollar ... error??
1 1

12 posts in this topic

So I am very very new to the Hobby but I came across this really cool 1877 s trade dollar and it seems like to me there's an error on the back would somebody be able to help me to confirm that or something anything thank you.... into whatever is next to the wing on the left side it's not dirt

IMG_20240201_100721941_HDR.jpg

IMG_20240201_100711733_HDR.jpg

Oh my God now what I wanted to hear LOL but you know any other ways I could verify it being counterfeit or not because Google let me tell you not helpful actually I will say this so helpful that it's not helpful

Coinbuf beat me to it but I was just going to say the same thing, counterfeit.
Besides having that cast look, the reverse is wrong. There are two types of    
reverses on Trade Dollars and that is neither one of them. Looks like a    
combination of both types.

If you bought it, hope that you did not pay too much.

Edited by Greenstang

Welcome to the NGC chat board.

The trade dollar is, unfortunately, one of the most widely counterfeited U.S. coins.  This one isn't deceptive if you know what the genuine pieces look like.  The reverse features an imitation of the "Type 1" reverse with a berry below the eagle's claw that wasn't used on coins dated after 1876. Even if that were not so, the weak rims, stars and lettering, lumps of extra metal in places, and odd color and surface texture indicate at a glance that it is not a genuine coin.

Please refer to the print and online resources identified in the following forum topics to acquire the knowledge that you will need to collect U.S. coins: