• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1st grading I hope I get this right.
2 2

10 posts in this topic

I'm new to the hobbie. So I'm going to send  4 coins there going to be proof Penny's. My question is how do I make shure I put down the fare market value of the coin? I think they should be pr 70 ,but the red book only goes to pr 65. I'm terrified I will fail to put down the right value.

Proceed carefully! You must make sure the coin is worth the grading fee before submitting. For valuation , if in fact they are proofs, I would estimate them at pr66. Chances are you won’t achieve 69 or 70. IMHO few cents are worth the grading fee but not knowing what you have I could only guess

If you substantially undervalue a coin, NGC will charge you for the grading fee at the appropriate tier, and the coin will only be insured for the market value you put on the submission form in the event it is lost or damaged while in NGC's possession or in shipment back to you. The more serious issue, however, is that someone who is "new to the hobby" wants to submit coins to a third-party grading service. As someone who has been collecting coins since the early 1970s--some fifteen years before any such service existed--I find this concept puzzling.  It is more likely that you will overvalue the coins you submit and spend multiples of what they are worth on grading and processing fees and shipping. (Most proof cents dated from the mid-1950s on would not be worth the cost of third-party grading unless they were likely to receive extremely high grades of PF 69-70 RD, which would require substantial knowledge and experience to determine. Values for such grades can be found, for example, in the NGC Price Guide, NGC Coin Price Guide and Values | NGC).)