• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1964 SMS JFK
1 1

24 posts in this topic

1. I'm far from a professional of coin grading or even collecting, but do know a few things about coins that I learned from my Grandpa when I was younger. From a novice coiners standpoint, and after researching countless web sites and videos, I believe that I may just have one of these rare coins. The heavy strike on the obverse grabbed my attention instantly after I felt it in my fingers. Never felt a coin with such a deep strike and sharp edge to it, outside of a proof coin that is. So anyone with any knowledge to share on this topic, I would appreciate

Hi Tuffy512, welcome to the forum.  It would be great to see the coin you are referring to.  Please post clear and cropped photos of the obverse and reverse of the coin so we can see what you've got.  I will admit, I am not aware of a 1964 SMS JFK coin.  To my recollection, the SMS sets were "Proof-adjacent" sets produced in 1965, 1966, & 1967.  We are looking forward to seeing this coin. 

On 1/3/2024 at 5:35 PM, Tuffy512 said:

I believe I may have one of these coins. 

You don't, end of story.   That may come across as harsh but the simple fact is that the only coins to be certified as 1964 SMS coins came from the estate of the mint director in 1964.   If you don't have undisputed documentation to prove that your coin came from this source whatever you have will never be recognized as a 1964 SMS coin.

I learned something new today, thank you Coinbuf. 

(Copied from Greysheet.com):

Greysheet Catalog Details (GSID: 6988)