• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Quarter Stamped on Wrong Planchet??
1 1

17 posts in this topic

Hello, Newbie here. I have had a large change jar for about 20+ years and the bottom finally broke out. I found a very interesting 1966 Quarter that may be stamped on the wrong planchet. I took the quarter into a coin shop to gather more details and they said that the quarter may be stamped on the wrong planchet. They weighed the quarter and it appeared to have the same weight as a normal quarter, but advised me to send it in to NGC to have it evaluated. I don't know much about coins, so I was hoping to get some general information/input on this type of coin. Any information provided would is appreciated. 

20231120_192122.jpg

20231120_192129.jpg

20231120_192856.jpg

Hello and welcome to the forum and the hobby!

First off, never handle a coin that could be valuable with your fingers on the face of the coin. Handle it by the edges only.

Going off only on what is presented here, if the coin shop you took this to had an accurate scale and stated the weight was close to a normal issue quarter, then I would say this is not struck on a wrong planchet. If it were, most likely the weight would be wildly off or be able to be matched closely to the incorrect planchet it would have been struck on. For example, if the weight was closer to a half dollar planchet, or foreign planchet, or even a nickel planchet.

The fact that in the photo of the two quarters side by side if you are showing us the relative thickness to another quarter, that typically has not made a difference in this area as some planchets can be a little thicker or thinner than others and still fall within mint tolerance as well as coins with wear will be slightly thinner than coins with less wear.