• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Individual coin grade report
1 1

19 posts in this topic

Why are there no grading reports for submitted coins? It would be nice to understand why a coin received the grade that it did.

Admittedly, I am not a trained professional regarding coins. However, when a coin was submitted that has been encased and in my possession since it was released 60 years ago and is returned as UNC CLEANED, it makes me wonder when it was cleaned… at the Mint?

There was a time in the past when it was acceptable to clean a coin. It was later determined that it was not a good idea to clean coins.

J P M…. Thank you for your reply, I appreciate it and totally agree that it used to be the thing to clean coins.

However, it would truly be great if NGC could actually give the customer a copy of any notes taken during the grading process.

The coin I mentioned still “cartwheels” when rocked in the light and has some toning around it.  From what I have read in many places, including the NGC website, these are features that should not exist if a coin has been cleaned.

As an engineer I learned long ago that, without data to back it, it is just an opinion - therefore I would like to see the data that NGC has. 

A third-party grading service's grade assignment is never anything more than an opinion, albeit one by people who are supposedly objective, as well as trained and experienced.  That is why collectors should learn how to grade coins themselves, develop their own judgment and taste, and not rely entirely on what is printed on a grading service's little paper tag or the presence or absence of someone else's sticker.