• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

So you think you know how to grade a coin? I've been doing it for 25 years and I'm still learning and screwing up. You? Let's talk about the failures and disappointments that come along with the highs and jubilation of submitting raw coins.
1 1

18 posts in this topic

Sometimes you can get a bit out in front of yourself. Some coins can produce a kind of out of body experience that may inhibit your subjectivity meters. You know... those coins that you are just so sure will grade above the breakout for the type and series. You have trained all your life for these moments. Hours spent training in the mental gymnasium of numismatic literature and study. Late nights in low light staring at the surfaces of coins under lamp light for hours. Then the moment arrives when that coin you have waited for, the coin that would make your dreams come true is sitting in front of you. It looks great, there is to your "trained" eye no issues or problems that would preclude the coin from your desired straight grade. Then.. it comes back cleaned. :( Lets talk about your loss. I understand your feelings of loss, trauma and inadequacy. I would like to create this "safe space" lol to be a "collectors support group" to combat Post Traumatic Coin Stress Disorder. Together we can end PTCSD in the hobby forever. Save a life. Tell us your stories....stay strong  lolCheers & Happy Hunting!

Edited by Mike Meenderink

One of my greatest sorrows. A coin and a day that made me question my entire numismatic education. I felt angry, betrayed and violated when this came back.  Oh how I loved it so...I'm still not over this one

1907 Indian UNC-DETAILS Altered color.jpg

spelling