• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1942 quarter, broadstruck or damage?
1 1

13 posts in this topic

Hi, I have been meaning to post this for a while, but have been a bit busy. 1942 quarter that seems to have the outer edges of the letters stamped incorrectly. Is this damage or is this something that occurred when it was broad struck? Any helpful insight is appreciated, or thoughts of how this could of happened. 

VideoCapture_20231111-021207.jpg

VideoCapture_20231111-021245.jpg

VideoCapture_20231111-021315.jpg

VideoCapture_20231111-021325.jpg

VideoCapture_20231111-022600.jpg

Edited by smashan8
Added photo

Smashan8,

Hello and welcome to this forum.  I will admit, I am not an expert on broadstrike coins, but I think maybe it was 81yrs. of hard living that happened to this coin.  I am just a bit, or two, over half the age of this coin and it looks better than me on some days. 

Thank you both for the opinions. I did see on another forum of ngc where it was mentioned about being stuck in a dryer or machine that can cause it. But I wasn't exactly sure. And yes for this to be 1942 it looks better then how I feel most days lol. 

On 11/11/2023 at 2:37 AM, dprince1138 said:

This condition is probably caused by some sort of constant pressure\movement along the edge of the coin and was eventually ground down.  I do not believe that it is something that had originated at the mint.  

Washington quarter die varieties

20190203_20190203_031104-ccfopt-ccfopt.jpg

20190203_20190203_031244-ccfopt-ccfopt.jpg

Yeah that makes sense. I've been doing some research to learn more about the mint process, when coins first came out, it's interesting how times have changed. Thank you for this helpful response.