• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Would grading help value of this coin thanks
1 1

34 posts in this topic

I’m a novice and learning … I need to learn . Thank you 

would this coin benefit from a grade and case? I collect sports cards and comics and have graded them when trying to increase rarity and value. Does that also apply to coins. 
is this coin a decent candidate for my first submission, thanks Tom 

IMG_0730.jpeg

IMG_0729.jpeg

IMG_0728.jpeg

When you post photos we need to see the whole coin both sides, then you can post a closeup and questions about the area you are interested in.   As you posted only the closeup I assume you think this is a valuable doubled die coin.    But we cannot even tell what the date is to attempt to verify if there is a known doubled die for whatever date this coin is.   However, from your photos this looks like worthless strike doubling on a well circulated coin with plenty of hits and scratches worth face value of $.50.   This is known as a spender, but if you want to you can spend $40 on plastic, I would not recommend doing so unless I knew the date and could verify if it could be a known doubled die.

Edited by Coinbuf

Nice DDR.

What are you referring to as "first submission"?

Yes, grading always helps.  Generally, some sort of protecting material is useful.  Many collectors use the stapled cardboard method.  You can buy coin holders inexpensively from Amazon. 

Of course, to grade would require complete images of obverse and reverse.

Also, you may want to view similar coins on ebay, etsy or heritage auctions for comparable listings.

Sheldon coin grading scale - Wikipedia