• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1974 Lincoln penny???
1 1

7 posts in this topic

Spoiler

Hello out there, I'm relatively new to coin collecting so I thought I'd lean on the more educated. So thank you in advance. 

I have here I think a 1974 penny but something is wrong with it, any guesses on how it ended up like that? 

16970332787273141430585765427942.jpg

CM231011-071159005.jpg

Edited by Melani616

Always show both sides of the coin when making inquires.  
From what I can tell, your 1974 CENT looks like a dryer coin which is damage
but a photo of the obverse would confirm this.

**Was able to open the hidden contents and can now see the Obverse. The smaller diameter and
thicker rims indicate that it is a dryer coin. No premium for this.

Edited by Greenstang
Correct typo

HI Melani616, it can sometimes be hard to provide an explanation as to what causes damage to coins.  99.9% of the time it is PMD (Post Mint Damage), or life as I look at it.  This coin is just a bit older than I am and I feel like your coin looks some days.  Unfortunately, the coin looks like it was used and abused for nearly 5 decades.  There are fantastic resources that can help hone your understanding of coins on the main page of the "Newbie Coin Collecting Questions", under "Basic Resources & Glossary" - one in particular is: https://www.error-ref.com/part_xi_-_non_errors/ This site will help you better understand various types of damage that life, use and people inflict on coins, purposely, accidentally, or incidentally. 

image.png.0938e8d163e97b01565d338b1292df20.png

On 10/11/2023 at 9:54 AM, cobymordet said:

Also, it seems that the obverse of your coin was hidden somehow, I am not sure how you can unhide it