• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

first day of issue
1 1

39 posts in this topic

hello everyone,

I wanted to reach out so someone would clarify first day of issue designations.  so I have a subscription to the us mint and I receive coins in the mail that were sent to me the day they were issued.  I think I saw on this site that you have to send them to NGC within 10 days of release.  Since i didnt know that, can i include the invoice from the mint or something like that to still get my designation?  for example.  The mint release the new American Eagle 2023 One Ounce Silver Uncirculated Coin on May 25th.  Mine was shipped that day.  of course it is way over the 10 days, is there no way to get that designation on that coin?

What you have now is a 2023 eagle in US Mint packaging. It is not really worth sending in unless it is something special.

On 6/21/2023 at 11:52 AM, Roy Winters said:

i was thinking that, sucks but i wanted to at least see if there was an avenue open lol

It doesn't look like you will be able to get the "First Day of Issue" designation on the label if submitted.  But as mentioned, I would post the question in the "Ask NGC/NCS" section anyway.  What's the worst that can happen, someone from NGC verifies that it's too late to submit for that label.

Is your coin a 2023 ASE Uncirculated as you stated was an example?  If so the difference between the two labels is minimal unless it would grade out MS70, in which case the difference in value would only be like $20 or so.

Edited by EagleRJO