• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

A Newbie's Coin Collecting Journey - Narrowing My Collecting Scope
1 1

17 posts in this topic

I have opened up a few posts this way, but I am relatively new at coin collecting.  I have been collecting for a year in April 2021.  My coin collecting journey is as follows:

First - Collected whatever came my way.  Lincoln cents in low grade?  Sure!  State quarters?  Why not?  I literally bought albums and stuffed them with anything I could find coin roll hunting.  It was great, and it was cheap.  Then the coin shortage hit... and that stopped that.

Second - Now liking collecting coins from pocket change, I was disappointed when I could no longer get them. So, I went into my first coin shop, and saw coins I never knew existed.  My eyes grew wide as I looked at different sizes and designs of coins.  A large cent?  Who ever even knew that this existed?  I was very intrigued, but also absolutely horrified at coin prices (I had only paid face).  I was scared to death of the expensive coins, but they were so interesting to me.  I could never afford a set, but maybe just one... and with that I started a Type Set.  Over time, I became a little desensitized to the higher coin prices (but never lost sight of the fact that this can get expensive).