• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1927 s peace dollar seems off

16 posts in this topic

hello.  i am fairly new to collecting but have a pretty good understanding of the peace dollar series and just getting into morgans.  I only purchase certified coins now but am always looking at raw coins just to compare.  I came across a couple 1927 s peace dollars (raw) on ebay and immediately was drawn to the "S" mintmark.  the seller has 2 coins up for sale right now and i am not sure either one has the "S" even in the correct location in relation to the spikes and "O" in one.  I got burned a couple times on ebay buying "GEM" raw coins and this appears to be a potentially shady deal in progress.  I couldnt photo capture the images but if anyone is bored and wants to see what they think... they are listed as 1927 s peace dollar  beautiful coin   .  please advise if anyone has time to look and see, thanks   (prices are 400 and 250 BIN)

sorry i dont know what im doing on this computer.  can i ask another question please.  are there different mint mark locations for same year "S" coins?  and would the "S" on a 1934 be in the same place as a 1927?  or can the mint mark location vary from coin to coin?  thanks

26 minutes ago, Paul Hills said:

same seller, that one looks ok to me but now im second guessing myself.  it is the 400 one  no slant in the "S" and location seems way off?

Yea, I'm not seeing where it looks off. Could be the lighting used in the sellers pics. 

Just now, bsshog40 said:

Yea, I'm not seeing where it looks off. Could be the lighting used in the sellers pics. 

were you looking at the 400 one for sale?  should the mintmark on all 1927 S be in the same location?