• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Any expert gold graders here?

24 posts in this topic

ARE there any gold experts in the room? I'd like to get your opinion of grade on this coin. The only clue I'll give is that it is in a straight grade slab.

Person who guesses right on gets a big cigar!

161086.jpg.7e0607e05fd7a359c0bf08d4fd569d8f.jpg

161087.jpg.4cd8e57ad1394279da79d69bf772f4b3.jpg

Yea I would have to go with a ms63. I have a 1910 in 62, and without seeing luster, yours looks fairly close in detail to mine but with a little less nics. Of course, I'm far from a gold expert. lol

Not familiar with this series, so not sure where there may be softness in strike, but the cheek and the wing looks to have wear spots to me, which would lead me to a 58. If the coin got a MS grade than Id go 63

Not familiar with this series, so not sure where there may be softness in strike, but the cheek and the wing looks to have wear spots to me, which would lead me to a 58. If the coin got a MS grade than Id go 63

we looked at this and thought the same thing. I am a very experienced grader, learned from a lot of old school pros long before 'professional' grading came about. First, I do not own the coin and have not seen it in person, but I am in such a remote location that even minor coin shows are a hundred mile drive or more, so we (wife) see a lot of mail order coins. To avoid wasting time and money, we've become very good at reading photos. That is why I put this out to the rest of you- we're all on the same playing field because all we have to go on are the photos, which could be the reason grades offered here are all over the place.