• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

What does a CAC sticker really mean? -- A proposal

142 posts in this topic

Please humor me for a few minutes. I invite you to read the below proposal with an open mind. Try not to dismiss it immediately as a futile academic exercise. I am a scientist, and such data as requested below would be highly useful to me (and others) to draw conclusions about the CAC service.

In many areas of our everyday lives, we take for granted the reliability and validity of things such as medical diagnostic tests. For simple analogy, I will use a pregnancy test throughout to help understand my arguments. I design studies for a living, so the methodology proposed here is the standard in such fields as medicine, IT, aerospace, etc.

The feasibility of such an experiment in the context of a major coin show would not be difficult. Though, it would require approximately 2-3 hours of time from the CAC finalizer (John Albanese) and 4 (or more) other very well respected numismatic leaders in the field. In addition, it would require preparation time on the part of facilitators, and the cooperation of CAC in the reapplication of stickers to appropriate coins after their independent review by other numismatic experts (see design methods below).

---------------------------------