• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Disappointed with CAC results

31 posts in this topic

I have been collecting Morgan Dollars since 2009. I decided to submit ten dollars that I believed would meet CAC standards. Here are the results:

1. 1879 O PCGS MS 65-failed

2. 1883 CC PCGS MS 65 DMPL-passed

3. 1884 P PCGS MS 66-passed

4. 1884 CC PCGS MS 65-passed

5. 1888 O PCGS MS 66-failed

6. 1894 P NGC AU 58-failed

7. 1898 S PCGS MS 65-passed

8. 1900 S NGC MS 65-failed

9. 1901 P NGC MS 61-failed

10. 1901 S NGC MS 65-failed

I now realize that I still have a lot to learn about grading. I fully expected 8 out of 10 to pass. Does anyone know if CAC gives reasons that a particular coin did not pass? Also, I have heard that you can call CAC and discuss with the grader why a coin did not pass. Does anyone know if this is true?

I have been collecting Morgan Dollars since 2009. I decided to submit ten dollars that I believed would meet CAC standards. Here are the results:

I now realize that I still have a lot to learn about grading. I fully expected 8 out of 10 to pass. Does anyone know if CAC gives reasons that a particular coin did not pass? Also, I have heard that you can call CAC and discuss with the grader why a coin did not pass. Does anyone know if this is true?

Why would you be disappointed with CAC?? The only thing your experience demonstrates is that you have a different opinion of what is "nice" than they do.

You may enjoy collecting much more if you stick to what YOU like, and leave others to make their market in what THEY like.