• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Grade my 1883 CC Morgan Dollar - New to This

23 posts in this topic

My grandfather has given my mother the 1883 CC GSA Morgan Dollar pictured below. I intend to submit it to NGC for grading. Any thoughts on a likely grade, as well as why? I am very new to this, but it turns out there is a large box of coins sitting in my parents basement, so my interest is growing.

Getting even these pictures was quite difficult, I admire the skill and patience demonstrated by the coin photos posted by collectors on this board. I have higher resolution photos, but they exceeded the size limit for the board. I can send them to anyone who might be able to help me but needs more detail.

I also have a proof silver eagle and a proof bald eagle commemorative I may submit, but it seems learning the fine gradiations for modern proof coins is hopeless for somone new to the hobby. I have a red book and after reviewing it a few times - my primary lesson has been that I know very little of a vast subject.

Any help is appreciated.

70428.jpg.7f1e465b3402eef61e4ee5dda0d7a41b.jpg

70430.jpg.fd17f17e62ff695742fbb33460ef3b23.jpg

If you upload your photos to Photobucket (www.photobucket.com), you'll have no trouble going well beyond the limitations of this message board. And it is Free.

I would think NGC would give this coin a 65. I like it a lot.

Also....Welcome to the boards. There are plenty of smart people here that can answer any question you can throw at them. Enjoy your stay and please feel free to post some more images of those coins from the box. :grin:

Welcome to the forum boards Scott Styles, now about the Carson City minted Morgan Dollar.