• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Proof 1988s Half Dollar Double Die

25 posts in this topic

I'm a newbie in coin collecting. I recently bought this coin in auction. I was wondering a few things:

It's grade?

It's value?

Is it worth getting graded?

How do I get it graded?

Thanks. Description of auction ad and pic's are below...

It was displayed as the following:

1988 S 90% SILVER KENNEDY HALF DOLLAR. THIS COIN WAS TAKEN FROM A SEALED 1988 UNITED STATES MINT SILVER PROOF SET. THE COINS WERE REMOVED FROM THE PLASTIC HOLDERS WITH GLOVED HANDS USING A GREAT DEAL OF CARE, AS NOT TO DAMAGE THE COINS IN THE SLIGHTEST. THEY WERE THEN PLACED INTO ARCHIVAL COIN SLIPS (HOLDERS), SEALED AND THEN STORED IN A CLIMATE CONTROLLED SAFE. AS IF THIS WAS NOT A GREAT COIN AS IT IS, WE HAVE A VERY STRONG FILLED "S" AND A D/D DATE MINT ERROR ON THIS COIN. ALL THE NUMBERING OR THE DATE ARE EXTREMELY D/Died. AS THE PICTURES CLEARLY SHOW THIS IS AN TRULY AMAZING EXAMPLE OF A UNIQUE D/D DATE ERROR AS WELL AS THE FILLED "S". THE DATE IS DOUBLED AND THE REVERSE OF THE COIN IS PERFECT IN EVERY WAY POSSIBLE. SHE IS TRULY QUITE A STUNNINGLY BEAUTIFUL ERROR COIN.

631e_1.JPG

6271_1.JPG

23b2_1.JPG

Welcome to the neighborhood!

I don't see any indication of doubling, and the mintmark looks normal to me. Have you checked it against the Cherrypicker's Guide? Are those flecks I see just particles of cardboard dust from the Mint case or are they nicks? If they are nicks, I don't think it would be worth submitting. If your only reason for submitting it is because of the supposed doubling, you might want to save your money.