• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Unsealed TPG Slab

16 posts in this topic

I bought a 1964PR68CAM, PCGS, cent last Thursday. The coin arrived in the mail today and when I went to peel the dealer ID sticker off, the two halves of the slab just fell apart. The slab had never been sonically sealed. The sonic seal director ribs were still intact and only the hermetic slip fit (natural vacuum) was holding the slab halves together. So much for Quality Assurance. As an engineer, I have to ask if they at don't least vacuum cup, pull-test the seal before sending it through to packaging? Apparently, they don't test the seal or maybe they just visually inspect it? Now this coin just cost half of it's price to send it back.

I have seen slabs with errors but never one totally unsealed before. It can happen with Branson Ultrasonic Sealers. Unless you hear the lower harmonic (within human hearing range) squeal from the part being sealed, you don't have any seal. We made a half-million Barbie dolls a day when I worked at Mattel Toys. Inspectors looked at and pulled every seal but we still shipped an occasional unsealed doll, despite the distinct harmonic squeal of the sonic horn or lack thereof. You also have to monitor the compressed, air-pressure for the sealer horn pressure. That is why you need to at least machine, rubber vacuum cup, pull test each one of them. I assume that they are hand loaded into a slide are and then sealed on a single or double station sealing machine or a rotary indexing table maybe. Just speculating how this may have happened.