• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Liberated Today & Guess the Grade CBH- Grade Revealed

25 posts in this topic

I bought this coin for my 7070 and no sooner did it arrive, than it was liberated. I even thought I heard a sigh, although could have been me upon realization the coin was safe. I thought of leaving the coin in its coffin but that empty hole was calling. The coin itself was purchased because it fits very nicely with the others in the set. Hard to tell from the photos but the coin has tremendous luster remaining.

Guess the grade and could the experts tell me the Overton number as I am a bust novice. This is the first bust coinage I have ever owned. I believe the coin to be under graded. Below are multiple photos of the coin as the white balance and focus are off in both which should provide better information from which to grade. I do want to thank all you bust collectors for the information passed along on these forums that allowed me to make, what I consider, a good purchase.

I can see now the appeal these coins have with collectors. They are quite attractive.

1824CBHRev2.jpg

1824CBHRev1.jpg

1824CBHObv2.jpg

1824CBHObv1.jpg

What a wonderful coin!!! As for grade, I would say high AU or low MS, but I am usually pretty tight grading these. As for Overton attribution, I believe it is an O-115 (R.2) the obverse matches up well, but the reverse has a couple question marks. There should be a die defect between the left wing and corner of scroll but I cannot see it on the photo (maybe I am also looking in the wrong place), but it does have a dot in the lower inside of the C in 50. which matches up. If not an O-115, I would next say O-116, but I think it matches up better with the O-115 marriage.