• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Hello and some Newbie questions.

27 posts in this topic

Pardon the Screen name.. We dont have much of a Hoard, yet..

My name is Sean, and im very new to this numismatic stuff.

I got into this recently, since my wife bought into this

US $1 gold coin program, though some company.

They send you "proof" of every $1 gold coin for every president

for the next 10 years. So far we only got the Washington $1 coin.

Since my wifes purchase, ive caught the Numismatic bug, and

i have some questions, regarding my wifes purchase and other

general questions about coins and collecting.

Yes i have read the FAQ's and "things to know" and etc, pardon

me if my questions are redundant and annoys you.

Anyways.

The package my wife bought contained a $1 washington coin, encased

a plastic case. and an album set up where each of the coins for each

president goes in. My question is this. What kind of quality

coin should I expect to receive?? Since these are suppose to be

uncirculated proofs from the mint. Should I expect a PF65 or MS70?

Reason I ask is because. looking very closely at the coin though the casing.

I see some dings/nicks on the outter edge and some scuff like marks

on the face of the coin front and back. I do realize these coins are

mass produced and dumped in together and moved around and etc

and do get treated pretty rough. But when they sell you this package.

are the coins suppose to be buffed and polished then delivered??

My wife specifically she wanted coins from 2 different mintss( she bought 2 sets),

Denver and I think Philly. Well both coins are from De. Should I call and

make them fix this and send me another Washington Coin from Philly??