• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

what condition is this coin?

12 posts in this topic

i recently picked up this coin for a few dollars. sone things r better than others. what would it grade g-f?

1877obv.jpg

1877rev.jpg

confused-smiley-013.gif

thank you ! i have been scared to buy any raw over 10$ since i get alot o body bags. but now i grab for the hystory. i love all the diff types of coinage . i was thinking good.

might i ask why u say vg-f? what r u looking at when left grading this coin? im new to self grading i usualy have a slab to compair to but i dont own anything but what i have sets of ( morgans+ )

This being a scan, I would say the coin is at least F-12, and maybe just shy VF - in spite of a weak LIBERTY!

I agree James, its a shame about the two scratches on the obverse. I believe less wear occurred than it appears at first glance. Almost any coin over 100 years old can just about be categorized as cleaned/dipped/wiped. An 'original' coin is becoming extinct and that is a shame.

Great buy ant 'for a few dollars'

thank you ! i have been scared to buy any raw over 10$ since i get alot o body bags. but now i grab for the hystory. i love all the diff types of coinage . i was thinking good.

might i ask why u say vg-f? what r u looking at when left grading this coin? im new to self grading i usualy have a slab to compair to but i dont own anything but what i have sets of ( morgans+ )