• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

PVC on mint set coins

8 posts in this topic

I recently sent in a 1962 mint set for authentication and grading to NGC. I realize the coins aren't really worth that much, but my reasons for doing so were not related to the coins value. At any rate, the coins were in the original packaging and I cut them out and slide them gently (without touching) into non-PVC flips and sent them to NGC.

To my surprise three of the ten coins were returned with no grade and the notation PVC ???? How can this be ??? I called NGC and was not able to get an explanation (they were very nice on the phone). I don't doubt what they said (I'm a novice), but how did this happen? The two nickels and one dime had the PVC designation and the other seven coins graded MS-64 to MS-66.

Does the original packaging from 1962 contain PVC and if so why were only three of the ten coins affected? Is there some other explanation? Is this a common occurrence?

I have some mint sets that have coins in them with PVC on them. I'm not sure how it got started on them, but it sure makes them look terrible. I also have some mint sets that have coins that are starting to tone slightly.

While I cannot say with certainty - because I have not knowingly ever seen one myself - there are counterfeit Mint sets. As most know - the envelopes are a breeze to counterfeit. And I have heard from a few who work at packaging manufacturers of the same type of pliofilm packages as the Mint uses being ordered.

So it would be quite possible for coins that were previously stored in PVC flips to be used in such manufactured sets. That is the only explanation I can think of for this to happen.