• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Would David Hall's NIG be considered a self-slabber today?

19 posts in this topic

He was a "self-certifier". I wouldn't say "self-slabber" since these are 2.5x2.5 flips. I own several of them.

They are heat-sealed, making them tamper-evident.

Thanks for clarifying they are flips.

He's still a self slabber so far as I'm concerned. 893naughty-thumb.gif

The relationship between David Hall and PCGS seems to be a little to close to be totally objective IMO.

I worked as a buyer for David Hall from late 1985 until (late?) 1987. Back then, he made a two way market in coins he sold (and sealed in plastic flips) and even had strong/aggressive buy prices for coins that met his MS65 and PR65 standards, etc.

Because his buy prices were so strong compared to that of most other dealers, many sellers eagerly offered coins to him, and we literally had sellers lined up at our tables at shows, to show/offer us coins. Our standards were generally quite strict and once PCGS began operations, many of the coins that David Hall sold as MS65 or PR65 graded higher at PCGS, even when their standards were more conservative. There were of course other coins that did not grade as high at PCGS.

Other than for purposes of sentimentality and posterity, I see no real value in the old David Hall Numismatic Investment Group sealed flip coins. Many of the coins should be quite nice, however.

He was a "self-certifier". I wouldn't say "self-slabber" since these are 2.5x2.5 flips. I own several of them.

They are heat-sealed, making them tamper-evident.